Josh Arieh Wins World Series of Poker 2021 Player of the Year

Josh Arieh Player of the Year WSOP 2021
The World Series of Poker 2021 Player of the year is Josh Arieh – narrowly beating out top players like Phil Hellmuth and Daniel Negreanu.

Josh Arieh has been announced as the Player of the Year in the 2021 World Series of Poker. Having landed himself two bracelets and a dozen cashes, he has come out on top.

An Incredible WSOP Run

The 2021 World Series of Poker was an amazing time for Josh Arieh. With multiple bracelet wins, cashes and final table appearances, he collected over 4000 Player of the Year points.

This is how the Top 5 played out:

  1. Josh Aireh – 4,194.59 points
  2. Phil Hellmuth – 3,664.09 points
  3. Daniel Negreanu: 3,531.03 points
  4. Jeremy Ausmus: 3,272 points
  5. Ryan Leng: 3,042 points

Phil Hellmuth and Daniel Negreanu, who landed second and third respectively, in the WSOP Player of the Year race, has similarly impressive runs. Hellmuth received his 16th bracelet, while Negreanu cashed in 18 events. However, it was Arieh’s two bracelet wins that edge out the competition.

Play Now at Bovada

His first bracelet win came from the the $10,000 PLO Hi/Lo 8 Handed Championship for $484,791 and the second was won in the $1,500 PLO 8-Handed event for $204,766. In fact, Arieh is the only player to place in the top three of the WSOP Main Event and the $50,000 Poker Players’ Championship.

Arieh has been incredibly gracious about his win.

How WSOP Player of the Year Points Are Calculated

Points for the Player of the Year are calculated based on a complex formula. Depending on the event and the size of the field, players will be allocated points.

For example, the winner of the Main Event, which had over 6,650 entrants, won 1675 points while the Mini Main Event, which attracted 3,800 runners offered the winner a total of 1165 points. So, while plenty of aspects come into play to determine the Player of the Year, wins, cashes and the sheer volume of events played provide players with the most points.

The Player of the Year leaderboard was launched in 2004, when the WSOP moved to The Rio, so 15 other top players have received the same honor as Arieh:

Year Player Wins Cashes Total Earnings
2019 Robert Campbell 2 13 $743,377
2018 Shaun Deeb 2 20 $2,534,511
2017 Chris Ferguson 1 23 $428,423
2016 Jason Mercier 2 11 $960,424
2015 Mike Gorodinsky 1 8 $1,766,796
2014 George Danzer 3 10 $878,993
2013 Daniel Negreanu 2 10 $2,214,304
2012 Greg Merson 2 4 $9,755,180
2011 Ben Lamb 1 5 $5,352,970
2010 Frank Kassela 2 6 $1,255,314
2009 Jeffrey Lisandro 3 6 $807,521
2008 Erick Lindgren 1 5 $1,348,528
2007 Tom Schneider 2 3 $416,829
2006 Jeff Madsen 2 4 $1,467,852
2005 Allen Cunningham 1 5 $1,006,935
2004 Daniel Negreanu 1 6 $346,280

About Josh Arieh

Unlike his competition this year Arieh has yet to become a household name in the world of poker. However, he’s been making waves for well over two decades.

His first-ever World Series of Poker win came in 1999, landing himself a bracelet at the $3,000 Nlimit Hold’em Event – along with a prize worth over $200,000. Over the years, he’s amassed over $9 million in live tournament winnings – including first place in Wynn Poker Classic and World Poker Classic events.

He’s certainly going to be riding this high, and we expect to see a lot more of Josh Arieh in the coming year. Even with over 20 years of experience under his belt, he’s one to look out for in 2022 events.

Leave a Comment