Brian Rast Voted into the Poker Hall of Fame

Brian Rast Poker Hall of Fame
Brian Rast is this year’s inductee into the Poker Hall of Fame, beating out shortlisted figures like Josh Arieh and Isai Scheinberg.

Brian Rast is the latest inductee into the Poker Hall of Fame. He’s had a long and fruitful career, with six WSOP bracelets under his belt and 2023 is certainly his year.

The 2023 Poker Hall of Fame Shortlist

This year’s Poker Hall of Fame Shortlist included some of the most well-known and influential figures in the poker world:

  • Josh Arieh
  • Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Lon McEachern and Norman Chad
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg

Brian Rast’s Long List of Poker Achievements

It’s been nearly two decades since Rast began making a name for himself in the poker world. His first #1 cash came in 2006 when he won a Bellagio Weekly Tournament, and there was no looking back from there.

By 2011, he had won his first WSOP bracelet in the $1,500 PLO event, quickly followed by his second bracelet. This time, he had come first in the $50,000 Poker Players Championship event for $1.7 million.

Over the years, Rast has continued to climb the ranks in the poker world, winning bigger and more prestigious events. These include the $100,000 NLHE High Roller event in the WPT $25,000 Q1 Super High Roller.

His biggest-ever cash cin 2015 when he won the $500,000 NLHE Super High Roller Bowl for $7.52 million – pushing him into the Top 30 on Hendon Mob’s All-Time Money List.

Six-Time Bracelet Winner

There are only 20 other players in the poker world who have over 5 WSOP bracelets:

  • Phil Hellmuth: 17
  • Phil Ivey: 10
  • Johnny Chan: 10
  • Doyle Brunson: 10
  • Erik Seidel: 9
  • Johnny Moss: 9
  • Men Nguyen: 7
  • Billy Baxter: 7
  • Daniel Negreanu: 6
  • Shaun Deeb: 6
  • Jeremy Ausmus: 6
  • Chris Ferguson: 6
  • John Hennigan: 6
  • Jason Mercier: 6
  • TJ Cloutier: 6
  • Jeff Lisandro: 6
  • Brian Hastings: 6
  • Layne Flack: 6
  • Ted Forrest: 6
  • Jay Heimowitz: 6

He joined the club this year on June 18, when he came first in the $50,000 Mixed Games Poker Players Championship. Beating out legends like Phil Ivey, Josh Arieh and Phil Hellmuth, Rast really solidified his place as a Hall of Famer.

All of the players with 7 or more WSOP bracelets have already been inducted in the Poker Hall of Fame, so we have our eyes on Shaun Deeb or Jason Mercier for next year’s shortlist.

Leave a Comment